Integrated Photonics Research, Silicon, and Nano-Photonics

24 - 27 July 2017
Astor Crowne Plaza, New Orleans, Louisiana United States

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Integrated Photonics Research, Silicon, and Nano-Photonics Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 20 April 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review Mid April 2017
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 8 May 2017
Online Program Planner Available Week of 8 May 2017
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 5 July 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent Mid July 2017
Hotel Reservation By 3 July 2017
Register for the Meeting By 22 June 2017
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 14 July 2017
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 24 July - 27 July 2017

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions
Milan Mashanovitch, Freedom Photonics, United States
David Moss, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia

Program Chairs
Jonathan Klamkin, University of California Santa Barbara, United States
Yoshiaki Nakano, University of Tokyo, Japan
1. Photonic Devices
Anna Tauke-Pedretti, Sandia National Laboratory, USA, Subcommittee Chair
Shamsul Arafin, University of California Santa Barbara, USA
Meredith Hutchinson, US Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Di Liang, HP Labs, USA  
Pascual Munoz, Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain          
Jon Roth, Juniper Networks Inc., USA
Joseph Summers, Infinera Corp, USA
Koji Takeda, NTT Device Technology Labs, Japan    
2. Integrated Photonics Applications
Andreas Beling, University of Virginia, United States, Subcommittee Chair
Daoxin Dai, Zhejiang University, China
Tetsuya Kawanishi, Waseda University, Japan
Katarzyna Lawniczuk, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Netherlands
Molly Piels, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Cyril Renaud,  University College London, UK     
Maura Raburn, Google, USA
Sasa Ristic, McGill University, Canada
Andreas Steffan, Finisar Corporation, Germany

3. Integrated High Precision Photonics
Marco Peccianti, University of Sussex, UK, Subcommittee Chair  
Alexandra Boltasseva, Purdue University, USA
Miro Juhani Erkintalo, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Amy Foster, Johns Hopkins University, USA  
François Leo, Université libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
Kaoru Minoshima, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Gualtiero Nunzi Conti, Ist di Fisica Applicata Nello Carrara, Italy
Martin Rochette, McGill University, Canada
Stefan Wabnitz, Università degli Studi di Brescia, Italy

4. New Materials for Photonics
Volker Sorger, George Washington University, United States, Subcommittee Chair
Karen Grutter, U.S. Army Research Laboratory (ARL), USA
Boubacar Kante, University of California San Diego, USA
Juejun Hu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Jason Meyers, US Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Allesandro Salandrino, University of Kansas, USA
Xing Sheng, Tsinghua University, China