Resources: Committees

High-Intensity Lasers and High-Field Phenomena (HILAS)

High-Intensity Lasers and High-Field Phenomena (HILAS)

18 - 20 March 2014
Messe Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Resources: Committees

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the High-Intensity Lasers and High-Field Phenomena (HILAS) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 9 September 2013
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 22 November 2013, 12:00 EST (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 10 January 2014
Online Program Planner Available 10 January 2014
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 24 February 2014, 12:00 EST (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By
Register for the Meeting By 17 February 2014
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 18 March - 20 March 2014

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Jens Biegert, ICFO -The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain
Todd Ditmire, University of Texas at Austin, United States

Program Chair

Gunter Steinmeyer, Max Born Institute, Germany
Amelle Zaïr, Imperial College London, United Kingdom


Eric Constant, Université de Bordeaux I, France
Louis DiMauro, Ohio State University, United States
J.C. Fernandez, Los Alamos National Laboratory, United States
Takao Fuji, National Institutes of Natural Sciences, Japan
Peter Hommelhoff, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen, Germany
Milutin Kovacev, Leibniz Universität Hannover , Germany
Andy Kung, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
François Légaré, INRS-Energie Mat & Tele Site Varennes, Canada
Ruxin Li, Shanghai Inst of Optics and Fine Mech, China
Johan Mauritsson, Lund University, Sweden
Robert Moshammer, Max-Planck-Institut fur Kernphysik, Germany
Yasuo Nabekawa, RIKEN, Japan
Chang Hee Nam, Gwangju Inst of Science & Technology, South Korea
Nina Rohringer, Max Planck Advanced Study Group, Germany
Stefan Skupin, Max-Planck-Institut PKS, Germany
Stelios Tzortzakis, FORTH-IESL, Greece
Donald Umstadter, University of Nebraska Lincoln, United States
Caterina Vozzi, IFN-CNR, Italy
Mathew Zepf, Queen's University of Belfast, United Kingdom