Optical Nanostructures and Advanced Materials for Photovoltaics (PV)

02 - 05 November 2015
Soochow University Dushu Lake Campus, Suzhou, China

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Optical Nanostructures and Advanced Materials for Photovoltaics (PV) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 2/27/2015
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 21 July 2015, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Online Program Planner Available
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant 7 July 2015
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 14 October 2015, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 2 October 2015
Register for the Meeting By 5 October 2015
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 2 November - 5 November 2015

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions

Program Chair

Ning Dai, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Alexander Sprafke, Martin-Luther University Halle, Germany
Zongfu Yu, University of Wisconsin Madison , United States


Peter Bermel, Purdue University, United States
Svetlana Boriskina, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
Gavin Conibeer, University of New South Wales, Australia
Zhiyong Fan, Hong Kong Univ of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
Lan Fu, Australian National University, Australia
Qiaoqiang Gan, State University of New York at Buffalo, United States
Jan Goldschmidt, Fraunhofer Inst Solare Energie Systeme, Germany
Jr-Hau He, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
Olindo Isabella, Technische Universiteit Delft, Netherlands
Baohua Jia, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Jung-Ho Lee, Hanyang University, South Korea
Meicheng Li, North China Electric Power University, China
Xiaopeng Li, MPI Halle and Martin Luther University, Germany
Jeremy Munday, University of Maryland at College Park, United States
Ulrich Paetzold, Forschungszentrum J├╝lich GmbH, Germany
Carsten Rockstuhl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Wenzhong Shen, Shanghai Jiao Tong University,
Thomas White, Australian National University, Australia
Jia Zhu, Nanjing University, China