Optics for Solar Energy (SOLAR)

Light, Energy and the Environment Congress

Optics for Solar Energy (SOLAR)

02 - 05 December 2014
Energy Change Institute, Australian National University, Canberra , Australia

SOLAR focuses on optics for solar energy applications including design, modeling, integration of novel materials, manufacture, field-testing and deployment, and economics.  All forms of solar energy generation, transmission and storage – from thermal to photovoltaic to novel methods – will be covered. The program will highlight presentations spanning technology, public policy and finance.

SOLAR Keynote

Roland WinstonRoland Winston
University of California Merced

View all Keynote and Plenary speakers.

View the complete list of topic categories.

César Domínguez
Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique

Program Chair
Wojciech Lipinski
Australian National University

Program Chair
Takashi Yabe
Tokyo Institute of Technology

Program Chair

View Full Committee List


Abstract and Summary Submission 3 September 2014 12:00 EDT
Abstract and Summary Submission 3 September 2014
Advanced Registration 4 November 2014 00:00 EST
Advanced Registration 4 November 2014
Check back in Spring 2014.
Steven Chu, Stanford University, USA, Plenary

James G. Anderson, Anderson Group, Harvard University, USA, Keynote

Toshihiko Iwasaki, Konica Minolta, Japan, Keynote

Martin Green,  University of South Wales, Australia, Keynote

Roland Winston, University of California Merced, USA, Keynote

Leonid Dombrovsky, Joint Institute for High Temperatures, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia, Invited
Jeff Gordon, Department of Solar Energy and Environmental Physics; Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel, Invited
Kenji Araki, Daido Steel, Japan, Invited
Ratson Morad, Cogenra Solar Inc., USA, Invited
Stephen Goodnick, Arizona State University, USA, Invited
Gianfranco Sardina, Almeco Group, Invited
Tohru Nakagawa, Panasonic, Japan, Invited
Kazuo Hasegawa. Toyota Central Laboratory, Japan, Invited

Congress Special Events

Plenary Session
Friday, 5 December
Steven Chu is the William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Humanities and Sciences and Professor of Physics and Molecular & Cellular Physiology at Stanford University.  His research program encompasses atomic physics, quantum electronics, energy and energy economics, and biophysics and biomedicine that tests fundamental theories in physics, the development of methods to laser cool and trap atoms, atom interferometry, and the study of polymers and biological systems at the single molecule level.  For his work developing the theory of laser cooling of atoms, he was co-recipient the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1997.  From January 2009 until April 2013, Dr. Chu served as the 12th U.S. Secretary of Energy, being the first scientist to hold a cabinet position.  For more information on the Plenary speaker see the plenary page

Congress Reception
Join your fellow attendees for the Congress Reception. Enjoy delectable fare while networking. The reception is open to committee/presenting author/student and full conference attendees. Conference attendees may purchase extra tickets for their guest.

Joint Poster Sessions
Posters are an integral part of the technical program and offer a unique networking opportunity, where presenters can discuss their results one-to-one with interested parties. Each author is provided with a board on which to display the summary and results of his or her paper.

OSA - The Optical Society