Optics and Photonics for Energy & the Environment (E2)

02 - 05 December 2014
Energy Change Institute, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Optics and Photonics for Energy & the Environment (E2) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens March 2014
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 3 September 2014, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Online Program Planner Available
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By
Register for the Meeting By 4 November 2014
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 2 December - 5 December 2014

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions

Program Chair

Brian Orr, Macquarie University, Australia
Liu Wenqing, Anhui Inst of Optics Fine Mechanics, China
Gerard Wysocki, Princeton University, United States


Isaac Boxx, DLR - German Aerospace Centre,
Steven Brown, NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory, United States
Jong Chow, Australian National University, Australia
Frans J. Harren, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen, Netherlands
Kazuo Hotate, University of Tokyo, Japan
Young Kim, Gwangju Inst of Science & Technology, South Korea
Soo Chin Liew, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Jianguo Liu, Anhui Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics, China
Jan-Bai Nee, National Central University, Taiwan
Mark Phillips, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, United States
Liyang Shao, Southwest Jiaotong University, China
Venugopal Rao Soma, University of Hyderabad, India
Hoe Tan, Australian National University, Australia
Satoshi Wada, RIKEN, Japan