Laser Applications to Chemical, Security and Environmental Analysis (LACSEA)

13 - 17 July 2014
Sheraton Seattle Hotel , Seattle, Washington, USA

Resources: Committees

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the Laser Applications to Chemical, Security and Environmental Analysis (LACSEA) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 9 December 2013
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 9 April 2014, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 16 May 2014
Online Program Planner Available 9 May 2014
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 20 June 2014, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By
Register for the Meeting By 16 June 2014
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 13 July - 17 July 2014

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


John McManus, Aerodyne Research Inc, United States
Sukesh Roy, Spectral Energies LLC, United States

Program Chair

Waruna Kulatilaka, Spectral Energies LLC, United States
Grant Ritchie, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
Scott Sanders, University of Wisconsin-Madison, United States


Frank Beyrau, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Joakim Bood, Lund University, Sweden
Weidong Chen, Universite du Littoral, France
Timothy Day, Daylight Solutions Inc, United States
Thomas Dreier, Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Volker Ebert, Physikalisch Technische Bundesanstalt, Germany
Wolfgang Ertmer, Leibniz Universität Hannover , Germany
Aamir Farooq, Stanford University, United States
James Gord, Air Force Research Laboratory,
Clemens Kaminski, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Johannes Kiefer, Universitat Bremen, Germany
Dennis Killinger, University of South Florida, United States
Christopher Kliewer, Sandia National Labs , United States
Wolfgang Meier, German Aerospace Ctr. DLR, Germany
Jerry Meyer, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
Terrence Meyer, Iowa State University, United States
Andrzej Miziolek, US Army, United States
Wolfgang Schade, Technische Universität Clausthal, Germany
Thomas Seeger, Universität Siegen, Germany
Thomas Settersten, Sandia National Labs , United States
David Sonnenfroh, Physical Sciences Inc., United States
Frank Tittel, Rice University, United States