Laser Applications to Chemical, Security and Environmental Analysis (LACSEA)

13 - 17 July 2014
Sheraton Seattle Hotel , Seattle, Washington, USA

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Laser Applications to Chemical, Security and Environmental Analysis (LACSEA) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 9 December 2013
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 9 April 2014, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 16 May 2014
Online Program Planner Available 9 May 2014
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 20 June 2014, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By
Register for the Meeting By 16 June 2014
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 13 July - 17 July 2014

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


John McManus, Aerodyne Research Inc, United States
Sukesh Roy, Spectral Energies LLC, United States

Program Chair

Waruna Kulatilaka, Spectral Energies LLC, United States
Grant Ritchie, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
Scott Sanders, University of Wisconsin-Madison, United States


Frank Beyrau, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Joakim Bood, Lund University, Sweden
Weidong Chen, Universite du Littoral, France
Timothy Day, Daylight Solutions Inc, United States
Thomas Dreier, Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Volker Ebert, Physikalisch Technische Bundesanstalt, Germany
Wolfgang Ertmer, Leibniz Universität Hannover , Germany
Aamir Farooq, Stanford University, United States
James Gord, Air Force Research Laboratory,
Clemens Kaminski, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Johannes Kiefer, Universitat Bremen, Germany
Dennis Killinger, University of South Florida, United States
Christopher Kliewer, Sandia National Labs , United States
Wolfgang Meier, German Aerospace Ctr. DLR, Germany
Jerry Meyer, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
Terrence Meyer, Iowa State University, United States
Andrzej Miziolek, US Army, United States
Wolfgang Schade, Technische Universität Clausthal, Germany
Thomas Seeger, Universität Siegen, Germany
Thomas Settersten, Sandia National Labs , United States
David Sonnenfroh, Physical Sciences Inc., United States
Frank Tittel, Rice University, United States