Imaging Systems and Applications (IS)

13 - 17 July 2014
Sheraton Seattle Hotel, Seattle, Washington, USA

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Imaging Systems and Applications (IS) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 9 December 2013
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 9 April 2014, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 16 May 2014
Online Program Planner Available 9 May 2014
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 20 June 2014, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By
Register for the Meeting By 16 June 2014
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 13 July - 17 July 2014

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Michael Kriss, MAK Consultants , United States
Zeev Zalevsky, Bar-Ilan University, Israel

Symposium Organizer

K. Vijayan Asari, University of Dayton,

Program Chair

Kathrin Berkner, Ricoh Innovations, Inc. , United States

Symposium Organizer

Khan Iftekharuddin, Old Dominion University, United States

Program Chair

Byoungho Lee, Seoul National University, South Korea
Laura Waller, University of California Berkeley, United States


Scott Acton, University of Virginia, United States
Kenneth Barnard, US Air Force Research Laboratory, United States
Gisele Bennett, Georgia Tech Research Institute, United States
Peter Catrysse, Stanford University, United States
Chau-Jern Cheng, National Taiwan Normal University, Taiwan
Shlomi Dolev, Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Joyce Farrell, Stanford University, United States
James Fienup, University of Rochester, United States
Francisco Imai, Canon USA, Inc., United States
Kristina Irsch, Johns Hopkins University, United States
Ofer Levi, University of Toronto, Canada
Haibin Ling, Temple University, United States
Dale Linne von Berg, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
Robert Loce, Xerox Corporation TIC Resource Center, United States
Lingfei Meng, Ricoh Innovations Corporation, United States
Rajesh Menon, University of Utah, United States
Hau Ngo, US Naval Academy, United States
Juan Luis Nieves, Universidad de Granada, Spain
Jussi Parkkinen, Itä-Suomen Yliopisto, Finland
Sri Rama Prasanna Pavani, Arecont Vision, United States
Vinod Prasad, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Shishir Shah, University of Houston, United States
John Sheridan, University College Dublin, Ireland
Torbjorn Skauli, Norwegian Defense Research Establishment, Norway
Li Tao, , United States
Yuliya Tarabalka, INRIA Sophia-Antipolis, France
Shoji Tominaga, Chiba University, Japan
Abbie Watnik, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States