International Optical Design Conference (IODC)

22 - 26 June 2014
The Fairmont Orchid, Kohala Coast, Hawaii, USA

Resources: Committees

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the International Optical Design Conference (IODC) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 5 March 2014, 12:00 EST (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 9 April 2014
Online Program Planner Available 14 April 2014
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 3 June 2014, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 10 June 2014
Register for the Meeting By 26 May 2014
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 22 June - 26 June 2014

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Mariana Figueiro, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, United States
Scott Lerner, Carl Zeiss AG, United States
Julius Muschaweck, Arnold & Richter Cine Technik GmbH & Co., Germany
John Rogers, Synopsys, Inc, United States


Dave Aikens, Savvy Optics Corp., United States
Miguel Alonso, University of Rochester, United States
Rob Bates, FiveFocal LLC, United States
Julie Bentley, , United States
Florian Bociort, Technische Universiteit Delft, Netherlands
Peter Brick, OSRAM Opto Semiconductors, Germany
Thomas Brown, The Institute of Optics, United States
Scott Cahall, Eastman Kodak Company, United States
William Cassarly, Synopsys, Inc, United States
Chier-Weei Chang, Industrial Technology Research Institute,
Russell Chipman, University of Arizona, United States
Peter Clark, LensVector Inc, United States
Josh Cobb, Corning Tropel Corporation, United States
Jim Contreras, Ball Aerospace & Technologies, United States
Jasmin Cote, Side by Side Optical Engineering, Canada
Marta De La Fuente, INDRA, Spain
J. Rufino Diaz-Uribe, Univ Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico
Alexander Epple, Carl Zeiss AG, Germany
Florian Fournier, , United States
Edward Freniere, Lambda Research Corporation, United States
G. Groot Gregory, Synopsys, Inc, United States
John Greivenkamp, University of Arizona, United States
Anurag Gupta, Google, United States
Lakshminarayan Hazra, University of Calcutta , India
Joseph Howard, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, United States
Rainer Jetter, Optikentwicklung, Germany
Richard Juergens, Raytheon Missile Systems, United States
Norbert Kerwien, Carl Zeiss AG, Germany
David Kessler, Kessler Optics & Photonics Solutions,Ltd, United States
John Koshel, College of Optical Sciences/Univ Arizona, United States
Kenneth Kubala, FiveFocal, LLC, United States
Jay Kumler, JENOPTIK Optical Systems, LLC, United States
Wai-sze Tiffany Lam, University of Arizona, United States
Paul Leisher, nLight Corporation, United States
Rongguang Liang, University of Arizona, United States
Irina Livshits, , Russia
Virendra Mahajan, The Aerospace Corporation, United States
Daniel Malacara Hernandez, Centro de Investigaciones en Optica AC, Mexico
Stephan Malkmus, OSRAM, Germany
Paul Manhart, Sigma Space Corporation, United States
Romeo Mercado, RM Optical Design Consulting, United States
Paul Michaloski, Corning Advance Optics, United States
Michael Missig, Bausch & Lomb, Inc, United States
Kenneth Moore, Zemax, LLC, United States
Pantazis Mouroulis, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, United States
Iain Neil, Scotoptix, Switzerland
Thomas Nobis, Carl Zeiss AG,
Vladimir Oliker, Emory University, United States
Craig Olson, L-3 Communications, United States
Donald O'Shea, Georgia Institute of Technology, United States
Richard Pfisterer, Photon Engineering LLC, United States
Andrew Rakich, European Southern Observatory, Germany
Henning Rehn, Osram GmbH, Germany
Jannick Rolland, University of Rochester, United States
Kevin Rolland-Thompson, Synopsys, Inc, United States
Martha Rosete-Aguilar, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico
Jose Sasian, University of Arizona, United States
David Shafer, , United States
Vesselin Shaoulov, University of Central Florida, United States
Narkis Shatz, Science Applications International Corp, United States
Bryan Stone, Synopsys, Inc, United States
Wilhelm Ulrich, Carl Zeiss AG, Germany
Sergio Vazquez-Montiel, Inst Nat Astrofisica Optica Electronica , Mexico
Yongtian Wang, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
Rolf Wartmann, Carl Zeiss Microimaging,
David Williamson, Nikon Research Corporation of America, United States
Andrew Wood, Qioptiq Ltd, United Kingdom
Akira Yabe, , Germany
Garam Young, Synopsys, Inc, United States
Richard Youngworth, Riyo LLC, United States
Maria Yzuel, Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona, Spain