Resources: Committees

Advanced Solid-State Lasers

Advanced Solid-State Lasers

27 October - 01 November 2013
Paris Marriott Rive Gauche Hotel and Convention Center, Paris, France

Resources: Committees

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the Advanced Solid-State Lasers Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 25 February 2013
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 24 June 2013, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Online Program Planner Available 2 September 2013
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 1 October 2013, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 21 October 2013
Register for the Meeting By 30 September 2013
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 27 October - 1 November 2013

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions

Award Winning Chairs

Peter Moulton, Q-Peak, Inc., USA, 2013 IEEE Photonics Award
Guenter Huber, Universität Hamburg, Germany, 2013 OSA Charles Townes Award


Valentin Gapontsev, IPG Photonics Corp., USA, Program Chair
Francois Salin, EOLITE, France, Program Chair
Michael O'Connor, IPG Photonics Corp., USA
Nasser Peyghambarian, University of Arizona, USA
Jose Salcedo, Multiwave Photonics, Portugal
Stefan NOLTE, Institut of Applied Physics, Univ. Jena, Germany
Ulrich Hefter, Rofin-Sinar, Germany
David Pureur, Quantel, France
Jyrki Latokartano, Tampere University of Technology, Finland
Brian Baird, Summit Photonics, USA
Bill Shiner, IPG Photonics Corp, USA
Martin Richardson, CREOL, USA
Mark Hueske, LPKF, Germany
Zhu Xiao, laser.HUST Wuhan, China
Clemens Hoenninger, Amplitude Systems, France
Udo Klotzbach, Fraunhofer IWS, Germany
Almantas Galvasnauskas, Univ. of Michigan, USA
Haibin Zhang, ESI, USA

Richard Moncorge, Université de Caen, France, Program Chair
Shibin Jiang, AdValue Photonics Inc., USA, Program Chair
Jean-Luc Adam, Universite de Rennes I, France
Gerard Aka, Ecole Natl Superieure de Chimie de Paris, France
John Ballato, Clemson University, USA
Jes Broeng, Danmarks Tekniske Universitet, Denmark
Maxim E. Doroshenko, A.M. Prokhorov General Physics Inst RAS, Russia
Helena Jelinkova, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
Ajoy Kumar Kar, Heriot-Watt University, UK
Christian Kraenkel, Universität Hamburg, Germany
Sergey B. Mirov, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
JianRong Qiu, South China University of Technology, China
Jasbinder S. Sanghera, US Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Kathleen I. Schaffers, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
Kenneth L. Schepler, US Air Force, USA
Peter G. Schunemann, BAE Systems Inc, USA
Jianda Shao, Shanghai Inst of Optics and Fine Mech, China
Takunori Taira, Institute for Molecular Science, Japan
Mauro Tonelli, Università degli Studi di Pisa, Italy
Brian M. Walsh, NASA Langley Research Center, USA
Carlos L. Zaldo, Consejo Sup Investigaciones Cientificas, Spain
John M. Zavada, National Science Foundation, USA

Gregory D. Goodno, Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems, USA, Program Chair
Alphan Sennaroglu, Koc University, Turkey, Program Chair
Andrius Baltuska, Technische Universität Wien, Austria
Liang Dong, Clemson University, USA
Mark A. Dubinskii, US Army Research Laboratory, USA
Majid Ebrahim-Zadeh, Institut de Ciencies Fotoniques, Spain
Marc Eichhorn, Inst Franco-Allemand Recherches St Louis, France
Katia Gallo, Royal Institute of Technology - KTH, Sweden
Jennifer E. Hastie, University of Strathclyde, UK
F Oemer Omer Ilday, Bilkent Universitesi, Turkey
Yoonchan Jeong, Seoul National University, South Korea
Jason Jones, University of Arizona, USA
Junji Kawanaka, Osaka University, Japan
Sunao Kurimura, National Institute for Materials Science, Japan
Valentin Petrov, Max Born Institute, Germany
Thomas Schreiber, Fraunhofer IOF, Germany
Scott D. Setzler, BAE Systems PLC, USA
Akira Shirakawa, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Thomas Sudmeyer, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland

Industry Program Committee

Neil Ball, Directed Light, Inc.,  USA
Robert Braunschweig, Amplitude Systemes, France
Beth Cohen, IPG Photonics Corporation, USA
Shibin Jiang, Advalue Photonics, Inc., USA
Joachim R. Sacher, Sacher Lasertechnik, GmbH, Germany
Johannes F. Trbola, Trbola Engineering, Germany