Signal Processing in Photonic Communications (SPPCom)

13 - 16 July 2014
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, San Diego, California, USA

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Signal Processing in Photonic Communications (SPPCom) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 19 November 2013
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Online Program Planner Available
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant 26 March 2014
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 24 June 2014
Register for the Meeting By 16 June 2014
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 13 July - 16 July 2014

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


John Cartledge, Queen's University at Kingston, Canada
Chongjin Xie, Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, United States

Program Chair

Sander Jansen, Coriant GmbH & Co. KG, Germany
Changyuan Yu, National University of Singapore, Singapore


Prashant Baveja, Avago Technologies Inc., United States
Andrea Carena, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Roger Giddings, Bangor University, United Kingdom
Pontus Johannisson, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Maxim Kuschnerov, Coriant GmbH & Co. KG, Germany
Guifang Li, University of Central Florida, United States
Shoichiro Oda, Fujitsu Ltd, Japan
Xingwen Yi, University of Electronics Science & Tech, China
Xiang Zhou, Google, United States
Zuqing Zhu, Univ of Science and Technology of China, China