Return to Search Results


The July 1948 ICO Conference delegates in front of the physics department building at Delft. The first ICO president, T. Smith of Imperial College, London, is standing in the middle. The guest, A. C. S. van Heel, is in the first row with a paper in his hand. Other participants include, from left to right, P. Fleury, G. Toraldo di Francia, J. Cojan, A. Biot, S. S. Ballard, E. Ingelstam, V. Ronchi, J. Hrdlicka, M. Francon, P. Jacquinot, A. Arnulf, A. Marechal, R. W. Ditchburn, E. H. Linfoot, R. Slansky and T. Judd.

Credit: OSA Historical Archives