Siegman International School on Lasers

The Siegman International School on Lasers Co-founded by IPG Photonics

Tony SiegmanThe Siegman International School on Lasers Co-founded by IPG Photonics was established and named in honor of Anthony E. Siegman, 1999 OSA President, founding board member of the OSA Foundation and widely known expert on lasers and optics. 

This school brings together up to 100 of the world’s brightest graduate students each year to learn from academic and industry leaders.  Attendees will participate in a week long program of lectures, networking and professional development opportunities, poster presentations and research sharing. 

Honor a luminary. Inspire the future.

Dr. Siegman made significant contributions to the scientific community and inspired many students through his passion for teaching. As an OSA Volunteer, he served on the organizing committee for OSA's first summer school program—International Summer Session on Lasers and Their Applications. The program was a great success with 100 students representing 13 different countries. 

To honor Tony, his colleagues, family and friends came together to fund the Siegman International School Endowment that will keep his legacy alive and inspire the next generation.

The Program

Apply to the Siegman School
Apply to the Siegman SchoolStay tuned for information on the 2015 Siegman School.  

Donate to the Siegman School
Donate to the Siegman SchoolWe are still actively raising funds to permanently fund the Siegman School Endowment.  Please consider making a donation today.

Endowment Major Supporters

The OSA Foundation would like to give a special thanks to the Endowment’s major supporters. Without their early support, this program would not be possible.

IPG Photonics, Inc.

Platinum Level Supporter
Burt and DeeDee McMurtry

Silver Level Supporter
Charles and Patricia Barker
Gary and Carolyn Bjorklund
Joseph and Hon Mai Goodman
Alexander A. Sawchuk
The Smart Family Foundation
University Science Books

Bronze Level Supporter
Paul L. Kelley
The Siegman Family
Siegman School logo


Make a donation to the Siegman International School on Lasers Endowment and invest in the future. 



  • Eric Rosas, National Center of Metrology (CENAM), Mexico, Chair
  • Andrew Forbes, CSIR National Laser Centre, South Africa, Vice Chair
  • Niek van Hulst, Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain
  • Yoonchan Jeong, Seoul National University, South Korea
  • Michael O’Conner, IPG Photonics, USA
  • Jeannie Siegman, California, Honorary Member
  • A. Douglas Stone, Yale University, USA
  • Eric Van Stryland, CREOL, USA, Past Chair