Ivan P. Kaminow Outstanding Early Career Professional Prize

Ivan P. Kaminow
Outstanding Early Career
Professional Prize

Established in 2015, this prize honors Ivan Kaminow for his many contributions to the field of optics and photonics as well as his dedication to mentoring and inspiring early career researchers.

Each year, one early career professional member of OSA will receive funding to attend The OSA Winter Leadership Meeting in addition to an OSA-managed meeting of their choice. Recipients will also have the opportunity to be placed and mentored on OSA Committees, further enhancing their professional development. 

This fund is sponsored by the Kaminow family, Intel Corporation and personal donations from the OSA community.

Application for 2018 are open until 30 November

2017 Recipient

2016_Prize_Recipient.jpgAdam J. Fleisher
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), USA
Dr. Adam J. Fleisher is a Research Chemist at the National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST) in Gaithersburg, MD, USA. His research involves the development of advanced optical sensing techniques using optical frequency combs, quantum-cascade lasers, and high-finesse optical resonators. Seminal experiments at NIST include the application of electro-optic modulator combs for dual-comb spectroscopy (Opt. Lett. 39, 2688 and Opt. Express 24, 10424). Prior to joining NIST, AJ Fleisher was a National Research Council Postdoctoral Research Associate at JILA under the supervision of Dr. Jun Ye. While there, he and his colleagues demonstrated time-resolved frequency comb spectroscopy to probe fundamental chemical reaction kinetics (J. Phys. Chem. Lett. 5, 2241). He earned his Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry from the University of Pittsburgh in 2011 while working under Dr. David Pratt, and completed his undergraduate studies at Elizabethtown College in 2007.

AJ Fleisher is an active member of the Optical Society (OSA). He currently serves on the CLEO Science & Innovations Active Optical Sensing sub-committee and the Fourier Transform Spectroscopy organizing committee. As an executive committee member of the OSA Environmental Sensing Technical Group, he co-organized and co-chaired the Incubator on Precision Measurements in Air Quality & Turbulence held in Washington, DC. In addition to OSA service and professional development activities, Fleisher and his colleagues have recently published papers in Optics Letters and Optics Express, and given contributed and/or invited talks at CLEO, FiO, FTS, and LACSEA conferences.

Prize History

In 2016 the Outstanding Young Professioanls Prize was renamed in honor of Ivan P. Kaminow and is now fully funded by the generous support of OSA Foundation donors to the Ivan P. Kaminow Young Professional Prize Endowment.

Previous Recipients:


  • Rocio Borrego-Varillas, Politecnico di Milano, Italy


  • Alvaro Casas-Bedoya, University of Sydney, Australia
  • Antigone Marino, Italian National Research Council, Italy


  • Arlene Smith, University of Michigan, USA


  • Arti Agrawal, City University, London, United Kingdom


  • Giovanni Volpe, Bilkent University, Ankara, Turkey
  • Laura Waller, University of California-Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA
OSA Foundation
Ivan Kaminow

About Ivan

Ivan was a pioneer who helped revolutionize the telecommunications industry. An OSA Member for 48 years, Ivan received many awards over his career, including the Charles Hard Townes Award, John Tyndall Award, and Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Endowment. Ivan was respected among his peers and known for influencing and guiding future innovators in the field of optics and photonics. 

More information on Ivan’s accomplishments can be found here.