Tingye Li Innovation Award Campaign

Tingye Li Innovation Prize Campaign

Established in 2013, The Tingye Li Innovation Prize will honor the global impact Dr. Li made to the field of Optics and Photonics.  This award will recognize top-performing young professionals who have demonstrated innovation in their research via a paper and reference documents submitted for consideration during the OFC Conference or the CLEO Conference.

Support the Fund

This award will celebrate Tingye's significant contributions in the field of microwaves, lasers and optical communications and continues his passion for the future of optics. Please support Tingye's legacy and contribute to the fund today. Your gift will be matched 100% by OSA with a contribution to the Foundation.

About Tingye

Tingye Li was an OSA Past President and Fellow Emeritus renowned for his contributions to lightwave technology and optical fiber communications.

Born in 1931 in Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China, Li obtained his bachelor’s degree from the University of Witwatersrand, South Africa, and his Ph. D. from Northwestern University, USA.  He joined Bell Telephone Laboratories (later AT&T Bell Laboratories) in 1957, and worked there for 41 years until his retirement in 1998.

Li was respected and loved as an “elder” among young scientists and engineers in the field of photonics, both for his immeasurable contributions to the field and for his willingness to spend time mentoring, advising, promoting, and encouraging young people. 

Click Here to learn more.

Donor Recognition

The OSA Foundation and the Tingye Li Memorial Fund Fundraising Committee would like to thank our generous donors for their support.  

Corporate Leadership

Alliance Fiber Optic Products, Inc.
Insight Photonic Solutions, Inc.
Optical Fiber Communications Conference (OFC)
The Optical Society
IEEE Photonics Society
IEEE Communications Society
Spectra-Physics, a Newport Company
Thorlabs, Inc.


Leadership Donors       

(Donors who contribute  
$1,000 and more)

Yuhong Bai
Gary Bjorklund
Joe C Campbell
Nan Chi
David Cohen and
Deborah Li Cohen
James J. and A. Catrina Coleman
Gee-Kung Chang
Milton Chang
Dan, Kathy Li, Michael
and Jessi Dessau 
Chongcheng 'CC' Fan
Ke Dong
Frank J. Effenberger
Wei Gesang
Joseph Goodman
Ken Y. Hsu
Joseph Ip
Erich Ippen
Kenneth J. Jerkatis
Thomas Koch
Prem Kumar
Cedric Lam
Edith Li
Lih Lin
Wenhua Lin
Richard A Linke
Xiaolin Lu
Charles Mao
Stewart Personick
Elizabeth Rogan
Adel A Saleh
William Shieh
Yikai Su
Robert Tkach
Fengdan Wan
Donald & Yuling Wei
Savio Woo
Dr. and Mrs. H.K. Wu
Shin-Tson Wu
Simon Xu
Lianshan Yan
Xiaoxue Zhao
Jianhui Zhou

Fund Donors

Rod Alferness
Joel Alpert
Arnie Bazensky
Juan P. Beltran
Jens Buus
Jin-Xing Cai
Mary Chang
Yongmao Chang
Jianyao Chen
Xiangfei Chen
Jonathan Cheng
Angela Chiu
Andrew R. Chraplyvy
Yun Chung
Laurel Clark
Jane Cohen
Sheila Cohen
Sam Crivello
Christopher Dainty
Viktor Evtuhov
Nevin Foltz
Nicholas J Frigo
Fudan University
Tingyi Gu
Gregory Hansen
James Harris
J.Jim Hsieh
Patrick Iannone
Kenichi Iga
Wei Jiang
Adel Joobeur
Peter Kaiser
Donald Keck
Nobuhiko Kikuchi
Herwig Kogelnik
Kotura, Inc.
Mark Kuznetsov
Tien Pei Lee
Frederick Leonberger
Ching-Chug Li
Changsheng Li
Guifang Li
Jinghui Li
Yao Li
Chinlon Lin
Jenshan Lin
Xiang Liu
Jiamei and Xiaolin Lu
Michel E. Marhic
Douglas McCarter
Curtis Menyuk
Lynn E. Nelson
Robert D Pavey
Kent Blair Rochford
Charles Rubinstein
Robert Russell
Seth Schermer
Glenn Sincerbox
Teracomm, LLC
Lars H Thylen
Claudia P Valdes
Richard S. Vodhanel
Lee Wei
Alan Willner
Gordon C. Wilson
K. Wong
Beverly Woo
Thomas Wood
Sheryl L. Woodward
Julianne Wu
Tiejun Xia
Guohua Xiao
Chongjin Xie
Shizhong Xie
Man F Yan
X. Steve Yao
Kenneth Yin
Hanyi Zhang
Hui Zhang
Qiong Zhang
Zhejiang University
Xiang Zhou
Bichen Zou
John L. Zyskind
List as of 8/11/14
Tingye Li
OSA Foundation
Make a donation to the endowment and support the next generation of scientific innovators.

Tingye Li Memorial Video


Tingye Li Tributes Video

Kathy Dessau - Chair
Connie Chang-Hasnain
Deborah Cohen
Chongcheng (CC) Fan
Donald Keck
Herwig Kogelnik
Cedric Lam
Edith Li
Richard Linke
Yan Sun
Bob Tkach
Alan Willner