Herbert Walther Award

The Herbert Walther Award honors Professor Herbert Walther for the seminal influence of his ground-breaking innovations in quantum optics and atomic physics, and for his wide-ranging contributions to the international scientific community. The Award is jointly made by Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG) and the Optical Society (OSA), and presented by each society in alternate years.

The Award recognizes distinguished contributions in quantum optics and atomic physics as well as leadership in the international scientific community. The OSA Foundation has endowed this award with the support of corporate contributors, including Toptica Photonics AG and Messe M√ľnchen International - LASER World of PHOTONICS and individual contributors, including Tony and Jeannie Siegman, Joseph and Shirley Eberly, Gerd Leuchs, Marlan Scully, Wolfgang Ketterle, Peter Knight, and Y. Ron Shen. Please consider making a donation to support this special honor. Your gift will be matched by OSA with a contribution to the OSAF General Fund.


2014 Massimo Inguscio
2013 H. Jeff Kimble
2012 Alain Aspect
2011 Marlan O. Scully
2010 Serge Haroche
2009 David J. Wineland