Sang Soo Lee Award

The Sang Soo Lee Award recognizes outstanding leadership in founding or growing the optics and photonics community locally.  The award recognizes eminent individuals who played a key role in a specific region, through research and/or education in optics or photonics, introduction of a new field in optics or photonics or initiation of an optics and photonics industry.  Nominations are solicited from the global optics and photonics community.
Established jointly in 2013 by the Optical Society (OSA) and the Optical Society of Korea (OSK), the Sang Soo Lee Award honors Prof. Sang Soo Lee for his pioneering role in establishing optics in the Republic of Korea.  The first Lee Award will be presented in 2014 and presented in even-numbered years.
The award is endowed by OSK, OSAF and the family of Sang Soo Lee. The OSA Foundation is currently raising funds to permanently endow this award. Please consider making a donation to support this special honor. Your gift will be matched by OSA with a contribution to the OSAF General Fund.

2014 Mario Garavaglia