Past Awards

Past OSA Awards

Allen Prize
Dekker Foundation Student Scholarship Award
Archie Mahan Prize

Allen Prize

This award, established in 1990 and concluded in 2004, was presented to a person who, while a graduate student, made outstanding contributions to atmospheric remote sensing using electro-optical instrumentation especially for conceiving new and unique devices, for the development of new measuring techniques, or for perceptive analysis of remote sensing measurements.  The work which the award recognized should have been completed no more than three years prior to the date of the original nomination deadline.  This award was endowed by Robert Allen and consisted of a certificate and $1,500.


Year Name
2004 Jens Biegert
2003 Weilin Pan
2002 Iain Fletcher Howieson
2001 David N. Whiteman
2000 Remy Avila
1999 Blake Crowther
1998 Huailin Chen
1997 Richard Collins
1996 William E. Eichinger
1995 Carter Grotbeck
1994 Jirong Yu
1993 Timothy J. Kane
1992 Chris A. Hostetler
1991 Zhiping Chu
1990 Richard E. Bills


Dekker Foundation Student Scholarship Award

In 2003 and 2005, OSA and The Dekker Foundation sponsored a student scholarship award. The $10,000 scholarship award was open to graduate students in the field of photonics and optical engineering. The award consisted of a $10,000 cash prize, up to $1,000 in travel support and a certificate presented at OSA’s Frontiers in Optics.


Year Name
2005 Joyce Poon, California Institute of Technology
2003 Sameer R. Bhalotra, Stanford University, USA


Archie Mahan Prize

This biennial award, established in 1992 at the bequest of former OSA Treasurer Archie Mahan, recognized the best feature article in Optics & Photonics News (OPN).  Selection was based on accessibility beyond the area of specialty, clarity of text, uses of figures and illustrations, topical interest, current relevance, and writing style.  The prize consisted of a certificate and $1,500.  OPN articles were automatically reviewed and nominations not solicited.  The award was concluded in 2004.


Year Name
2004 Heidi Hofer, David R. Williams
2002 Edward Walter Hagley, Lu Deng, William D. Phillips, Keith Burnett,
and Charles W. Clark
2000 Paula R. L. Heron and Lillian C. McDermott
1998 Roger Easton, Jr, Robert H. Johnston and Keith T. Knox
1996 Robert E. Spero and Stan Whitcomb
1994 Robert Q. Fugate