C.E.K. Mees Medal

C.E.K. Mees Medal

CEK Mees Medal

This award was established in 1961 in memory of C. E. K. Mees, who contributed preeminently to the development of scientific photography. It is presented biennially to a recipient who exemplifies the thought that "optics transcends all boundaries," interdisciplinary and international alike. The award was endowed by the Mees family.

This award is presented in odd years only.

The OSA Foundation is currently raising funds to permanently endow this award. Please consider making a donation to support this special honor. Your gift will be matched by OSA with a contribution to the OSAF General Fund.


2013 Bahaa E.A. Saleh
2011 Lihong V. Wang
2009 Victor Georgievich Veselago
2007 J. Gary Eden
2005 Harrison H. Barrett
2003 Christopher Dainty
2001 Humio Inaba
1999 Toshimitsu Asakara
1997 Jumpei Tsujiuchi
1995 Serge Lowenthal
1993 Hans A. Buchdahl
1991 Florin Abeles
1989 Kenneth M. Baird
1987 Adolf W. Lohmann
1985 W.H. Steel
1983 Robert Ditchburn
1981 Maurice Francon
1979 Koichi Shimoda
1977 Andre Marechal
1975 William David Wright
1973 Erik P. G. Ingelstam
1971 Giuliano Toraldo di Francia
1968 Charles H. Townes
1966 Bengt Edlen
1964 George R. Harrison
William F. Meggers
1962 Alfred Kastler