Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award

Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award

The Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award was established by The Optical Society in 1989 and in 2007 was named in honor of Paul F. Forman, who, among many other accomplishments, raised the visibility of optical engineering. This team award recognizes technical achievements such as product engineering, process, software and patent development, as well as contributions to society such as engineering education, publication and management, and furthering public appreciation of optical engineering.

The Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award is sponsored by Zygo Corporation, Canon Inc, Optical Research Associates (now the Optical Solutions Group at Synopsys), Cambridge Research & Instrumentation, Inc, and individual contributors, Barbara Marks-Forman, Gary and Carolyn Bjorklund and G. Michael Morris.

Nomination Deadline:  2 July

All nominations and references should be submitted online. The following will be needed for the nomination:
1. Name of the nominated team and contact information for the team leader or a key team member
2. Proposed award citation (no more than 30 words)
3. A one-page narrative explaining the team's achievement
4. A list of team members, their individual roles on the team, and the period of time involved with the team
5. A minimum of two references (and no more than four) who have already agreed to submit a reference letter to OSA. It is desirable that these references be from outside the team's company.
6. Nominator's contact information

The deadline for nominations is 2 July and the award is presented approximately three months later at OSA's Frontiers in Optics (FiO).

The nominator must be a current OSA member or be employed by an OSA Industry Development Associates member company. There is no membership requirement for the nominees.

View the current Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award Selection Committee.

  Year       Team or Name(s)
  2016       Advanced LIGO Engineering Team
  2015           Logic Analysis Tool Team (LAT Team)
  2014       Intel® Silicon Photonics Solutions Group
  2013       ZygoLOT Automotive Precision Optical Team
  2012       Georgia Tech Research Institute (GTRI) Lidar Team
  2011       Tomasz S. Tkaczyk
  2010       Alan E. Willner
  2009       Stephen A. Boppart
  2008       Michael J. Bechtold
  2007       Ming C. Wu
  2006       Jean-Claude Diels
  2005       René-Jean Essiambre
Michael G. Littman
  2004       Shun-Lien Chuang
S. Chandrasekhar
  2003       L. Ramdas Ram-Mohan
Paul R. Dumas
Mark E. Lowry
Alan H. Gnauck
  2002       Tim Day
Christopher R. Doerr
David W. Peckham
  2001       Henry A. Blauvelt
Michael A. Klug
David G. Mehuys
Dale E. Morton
  2000       Joseph W. Anello, Jr.
Arne Erstling
Andrew C. Tam
Robert L. Hartman
Leonard J.P. Ketelsen
Judith A. Grenko
Won-Tien Tsang
  1999       Denis Barbier
Valentin Gapontsev
Igor Koltchanov
Olaf Lenzmann
Herman Reedy
  1998       Lee R. Shiozawa
Kenneth L. Walker
  1997       Donald M. Combs
John J. Mader
Jeffrey W. Roblee
Edward A. Yobaccio
Paul R. Yoder, Jr.
  1996       Gary Blough
Teddi C. Laurin
  1995       Francisco J. Duarte
John D. Gonglewski
Gary Guenther
Melvyn H. Kreitzer
Frank Luecke
David G. Voelz
  1994       Peter P. Clark
Dale E. Crane
Jay M. Eastman
John Michael Guerra
Jon Van Tassell
  1993       John H. Adams
Lacy Gordon Cook
Gaétan Duplain
Yury Pavlovich Khimich
Sergey Vladimirovich Lubarsky
Franklin R. Nash
Padman Parayanthal
David A. Roberts
  1992       Bertrand H. Johnson
Louis A. Koszi
Anthony R. Phillips, Jr.
  1991       Leroy D. Dickson
J. Tendra S. Goela
Un-Chul Paek
Michael A. Pickering
Raymond L. Taylor
  1990       Lawrence Lin
Eric Rawson
  1989       Stanley W. Haskell
Robert A. Jones
David Smithgall
Gary Starkweather
Laurence S. Watkins