Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award

Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award

OSA's Paul F. Forman Engineering Excellence Award

The Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award was established by The Optical Society in 1989 and in 2007 was named in honor of Paul F. Forman, who, among many other accomplishments, raised the visibility of optical engineering. This team award recognizes technical achievements such as product engineering, process, software and patent development, as well as contributions to society such as engineering education, publication and management, and furthering public appreciation of optical engineering.

The Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award is sponsored by Zygo Corporation, Canon Inc, Optical Research Associates (now the Optical Solutions Group at Synopsys), Cambridge Research & Instrumentation, Inc, and individual contributors, Barbara Marks-Forman, Gary and Carolyn Bjorklund and G. Michael Morris.

Nomination Deadline:  2 July

All nominations and references should be submitted online. The following will be needed for the nomination:
1. Name of the nominated team and contact information for the team leader or a key team member
2. Proposed award citation (no more than 30 words)
3. A one-page narrative explaining the team's achievement
4. A list of team members, their individual roles on the team, and the period of time involved with the team
5. A minimum of two references (and no more than four) who have already agreed to submit a reference letter to OSA. It is desirable that these references be from outside the team's company.
6. Nominator's contact information

The deadline for nominations is 2 July and the award is presented approximately three months later at OSA's Frontiers in Optics (FiO).

The nominator must be a current OSA member or be employed by an OSA Industry Development Associates member company. There is no membership requirement for the nominees.

View the current Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award Selection Committee.

Year Team or Name(s)
2015 Logic Analysis Tool Team (LAT Team)
2014 Intel® Silicon Photonics Solutions Group
2013 ZygoLOT Automotive Precision Optical Team
2012 Georgia Tech Research Institute (GTRI) Lidar Team
2011 Tomasz S. Tkaczyk
2010 Alan E. Willner
2009 Stephen A. Boppart
2008 Michael J. Bechtold
2007 Ming C. Wu
2006 Jean-Claude Diels
2005 René-Jean Essiambre
Michael G. Littman
2004 Shun-Lien Chuang
S. Chandrasekhar
2003 L. Ramdas Ram-Mohan
Paul R. Dumas
Mark E. Lowry
Alan H. Gnauck
2002 Tim Day
Christopher R. Doerr
David W. Peckham
2001 Henry A. Blauvelt
Michael A. Klug
David G. Mehuys
Dale E. Morton
2000 Joseph W. Anello, Jr.
Arne Erstling
Andrew C. Tam
Robert L. Hartman
Leonard J.P. Ketelsen
Judith A. Grenko
Won-Tien Tsang
1999 Denis Barbier
Valentin Gapontsev
Igor Koltchanov
Olaf Lenzmann
Herman Reedy
1998 Lee R. Shiozawa
Kenneth L. Walker
1997 Donald M. Combs
John J. Mader
Jeffrey W. Roblee
Edward A. Yobaccio
Paul R. Yoder, Jr.
1996 Gary Blough
Teddi C. Laurin
1995 Francisco J. Duarte
John D. Gonglewski
Gary Guenther
Melvyn H. Kreitzer
Frank Luecke
David G. Voelz
1994 Peter P. Clark
Dale E. Crane
Jay M. Eastman
John Michael Guerra
Jon Van Tassell
1993 John H. Adams
Lacy Gordon Cook
Gaétan Duplain
Yury Pavlovich Khimich
Sergey Vladimirovich Lubarsky
Franklin R. Nash
Padman Parayanthal
David A. Roberts
1992 Bertrand H. Johnson
Louis A. Koszi
Anthony R. Phillips, Jr.
1991 Leroy D. Dickson
J. Tendra S. Goela
Un-Chul Paek
Michael A. Pickering
Raymond L. Taylor
1990 Lawrence Lin
Eric Rawson
1989 Stanley W. Haskell
Robert A. Jones
David Smithgall
Gary Starkweather
Laurence S. Watkins