Edwin H. Land Medal

Edwin H. Land Medal

OSA's Edwin H. Land MedalThe Edwin H. Land Medal was established in 1992 by the Optical Society of America and the Society for Imaging Science and Technology to honor Edwin H. Land and to recognize his unique career as scientist, technologist, industrialist, humanist and public servant.

This medal recognizes pioneering work empowered by scientific research to create inventions, technologies, and products. The recipient should share Land’s insatiable scientific intensity and curiosity in optics and imaging and, in part, reflect his image as inventor, scientist, entrepreneur, and teacher.

The Land Medal is a joint award of OSA and the Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T), endowed through the OSA Foundation by contributions from OSA, IS&T, the Polaroid Foundation, the Polaroid Retirees Association and individual contributors, including Manfred Heiting, Theodore Voss and John J. McCann.

Nomination Form


2014 Mathias Fink
2013 Pablo Artal
2011 Mary Lou Jepsen
2010 Eliezer Peli
2009 Duncan T. Moore
2007 Charles R. Munnerlyn
2006 George H. Heilmeier
2005 Stephen A. Benton
2004 Steven K. Case
2003 John J McCann
2002 Benzion Landa
2001 George Smith
Willard Boyle
2000 John E. Warnock
1999 Robert H. Webb
1998 Sol F. Laufer
Carl A. Zanoni
Paul F. Forman
1997 Efi Arazi
1996 Donald Ray Scifres
1995 Ichiro Endo
John Vaught
1994 William E. Humphrey
1993 Howard G. Rogers