Public Policy Committee

OSA Public Policy Committee


OSA Public Policy Committee members at the 2016 OSA Winter Leadership Meeting in Washington, D.C.

The OSA Public Policy Committee focuses its efforts on promoting the importance of basic research and federal R&D funding and raising awareness of optics and photonics among key Congressional offices. Following are the Committee's current responsibilities:

  • Oversee OSA's public policy program, including member education, congressional/agency relationships and coalition building
  • Oversee OSA's efforts to educate the public on science and technology policy issues
  • Advise the OSA Board of Directors on public policy positions
  • Advise the OSA Board of Directors on legislative, regulatory and funding areas warranting OSA attention
  • Oversee selection of OSA/MRS and Arthur H. Guenther Congressional Fellows

OSA 2016 Public Policy Committee



Michael Mielke, Chair


Marco Arrigoni
Coherent, Inc.


Audrey Ellerbee
Stanford University


Amy Eskilson
Inrad Optics


Robert Leheny
Institute for Defenese Analyses


Julia Majors


Jie Qiao
Rochester Institute of Technology


Chris Schaffer
Cornell University


Martin Schell
Fraunhofer Institute


Matthew Weed
Open Photonics, Inc.


OSA Staff Liaisons

  • Elizabeth Rogan, Chief Executive Officer
    Phone: +1 202.416.1484
  • Laura Kolton, Director of Government Affairs
    Phone: +1 202.416.1499
  • Brandy Dillingham Government Relations Specialist
  • Phone: +1 202.416.1409

Voice your opinion with OSA’s easy-to-use e-mail tool.

Interested in making public policy a part of your career?

Apply for OSA's Congressional Fellowships for the opportunity to work on Capitol Hill for one year.