Angela Stark
The Optical Society

The Optical Society Announces 2013 Class of Senior Members

WASHINGTON, June 17, 2013–The Optical Society (OSA) Board of Directors is pleased to announce the approval of 100 new Senior Members—an OSA Membership distinction that provides well-established individuals with the opportunity to request a designation that recognizes their experience and professional accomplishments or service within the field of optics and photonics. The 100 Senior Members were announced last week at the Conference on Lasers and Electro Optics (CLEO: 2013). A listing of the newly inducted OSA Senior Members appears below.
To qualify for Senior Membership, individuals must have at least 10 years of significant professional experience in the field, an active OSA Membership and two endorsement statements from current OSA Members. Requests are reviewed by OSA’s Member and Education Services Council, which then recommends candidates to the Board of Directors for approval. Candidates who are not already affiliated with OSA are encouraged to establish a membership.
In addition to receiving OSA Individual Member benefits, Senior Member designees receive:
  • Special acknowledgements – Senior Members are identified in the OSA Member Directory, on, and during OSA-hosted events.
  • Announcements – Newly approved Senior Members are announced in Optics & Photonics News, the OSA Member e-newsletter, and other promotional materials.
  • Senior Member certificate and lapel pin – Distributed upon application approval.
  • Letter of recognition – Approved Senior Members may elect to have a confirmation letter sent to their employer.
Additional information about qualifications and requirements is available at
Following is an alphabetical listing of the 100 OSA Senior Members announced at CLEO: 2013:
  • Dario Ambrosini, Università degli Studi dell'Aquila
  • Yuri Avetisyan, Yerevan State University
  • Saswatee Banerjee, Sumitomo Chemical Co. Ltd.
  • Andy Bayramian, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Robert Bedford, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory
  • John Bellum, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Badr-Eddine Benkelfat,   Institut Mines-Télécom
  • Pietro Bernasconi            
  • Abhijit Biswas, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • David Boas, Harvard Medical School
  • P. Scott Carney, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Peter Catrysse, Stanford University
  • Pedro Chamorro-Posada, Universidad de Valladolid
  • Pankaj Kumar Choudhury, The National University of Malaysia
  • Christopher Cotton, ASE Optics, LLC
  • Flavio Cruz, Gleb Wataghin Physics Institute (IFGW)
  • Timothy Davis, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
  • Thomas Dekorsy, Universität Konstanz
  • Jun Dong, Xiamen University
  • Chris Ebbers, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Yasufumi Enami , Hiroshima University
  • Alexandre Fong  , Gooch and Housego
  • Eric Fossum, Thayer School of Engineering
  • Gregory Gbur, University of North Carolina Charlotte
  • Madeleine Glick , APIC Corporation
  • Miguel González-Herráez, University of Alcalá
  • William Green,   IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center
  • Arthur Hartog, Schlumberger Ltd.
  • Paul Hays, University of Michigan
  • Jr-Hau He, National Taiwan University
  • David Hecht, DLH Consulting
  • Markus Hehlen, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Javier Hernández-Andrés, Universidad de Granada
  • Stavros Iezekiel, University of Cyprus
  • Khan Iftekharuddin, Old Dominion University
  • Xavier Intes, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Junji Kawanaka, Osaka University
  • Sunil Khijwania,  Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati
  • Do-Kyeong Ko, Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology
  • Keisuke Kojima,               Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories
  • Nikiforos Kollias , Johnson & Johnson Consumer Companies, Inc. 
  • Valeri Kovalev, Heriot-Watt University and P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute of the RAS
  • Tristan Kremp, OFS Laboratories
  • William Kuhn, Opt-E
  • Kenji Kurokawa, NTT Access Network Service Systems Laboratories
  • Vladimir Kuzmiak, Akademie věd České Republiky
  • Jesús Lancis, Universitat Jaume I
  • Laurent Larger, Université de Franche-Comté
  • Sophie LaRochelle, Université Laval
  • Yufeng Li, TRUMPF Photonics, Inc.
  • Shien-Kuei Liaw, National Taiwan University of Science & Technology
  • Hong Lin, Bates College
  • Ai-Qun Liu, Nanyang Technological University
  • Jiafu Luo, Qualcomm, Inc.
  • Jacob Mackenzie, University of Southampton
  • Carl Maes, University of Arizona
  • Gregory Magel, Bright Field Consulting
  • John Marciante, University of Rochester
  • Thomas Marty, Thales Suisse SA
  • Jim Menders, L-3 PHOTONICS, IPITEK
  • Cleber Mendonça, Instituto de Física de São Carlos
  • Michael Mielke, Raydiance, Inc.
  • Oleg Mitrofanov, University College London
  • Stephen Moody, Orca Photonic Systems, Inc.
  • Ivan Moreno, Universidad Autónoma de Zacatecas
  • Wataru Nakagawa, Montana State University
  • Makoto Naruse,               National Institute of Information & Communication Technology
  • Norihiko Nishizawa, Nagoya University
  • Mike O'Callaghan
  • Andrey Okhrimchuk, Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Amy Oldenburg, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Takashige Omatsu, Chiba University
  • Aydogan Ozcan, University of California Los Angeles
  • Parviz Parvin, Amirkabir University of Technology
  • Inmaculada Pascual, Universidad de Alicante
  • Michael Pelletier, Pfizer Global Research and Development
  • Marco Petrovich, University of Southampton
  • Pascal Picart, Laboratoire d’Acoustique de l’Université du Maine
  • Alexandre Pohl,  Universidade Tecnológica Federal do Paraná
  • John Prohaska, Blackstone Photonics
  • Thomas Raasch, The Ohio State University
  • Hakki Refai, 3DIcon Corporation
  • John Rodgers, Lockheed Martin
  • Rostilav Roussev, Corning Incorporated
  • Jun Sakuma, Lasertec Corporation
  • Clint Schow, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center
  • Eva Sevick-Muraca, The University of Texas Health Science Center
  • Hossam Shalaby, Egypt-Japan University of Science and Technology (E-JUST)
  • Jesse Simsarian, Bell Labs - Alcatel-Lucent
  • Venugopal Rao Soma, University of Hyderabad
  • Zhenning Tao, Fujitsu R&D Center
  • Adriaan van Wijngaarden, Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent
  • Reeta Vyas, University of Arkansas
  • Kam Sing Wong, The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology
  • Lan Yang, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Ming-Chuan Yang, Micron Technology, Inc.
  • Masashi Yoshimura, Osaka University
  • Akio Yoshizawa, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
  • Guoquan Zhang  , Nankai University
  • Zuqing Zhu, University of Science and Technology of China
About OSA
Uniting more than 180,000 professionals from 175 countries, the Optical Society (OSA) brings together the global optics community through its programs and initiatives. Since 1916 OSA has worked to advance the common interests of the field, providing educational resources to the scientists, engineers and business leaders who work in the field by promoting the science of light and the advanced technologies made possible by optics and photonics. OSA publications, events, technical groups and programs foster optics knowledge and scientific collaboration among all those with an interest in optics and photonics. For more information, visit