The Optical Society Announces New Class of Senior Members

Media Contact:
Angela Stark
The Optical Society

The Optical Society Announces New Class of Senior Members

WASHINGTON, Nov. 12—The Optical Society (OSA) Board of Directors is pleased to announce the approval of 50 new senior members—a new membership distinction established by OSA earlier this year that provides well-established individuals with the opportunity to request a designation that recognizes their experience and professional accomplishments or service within the field of optics and photonics.  The 50 senior members were announced at OSA’s annual meeting, Frontiers in Optics (FiO) 2010, in Rochester, N.Y.  A listing of the newly inducted senior members appears below.

To qualify for senior membership, individuals must have at least 10 years of significant professional experience in the field, an active OSA membership, and two endorsement statements from OSA members. Requests are reviewed by OSA’s Membership and Education Services Council, which then recommends candidates to the Board of Directors for approval. Candidates who are not already affiliated with OSA are encouraged to establish an OSA membership.

In addition to receiving OSA individual member benefits, OSA senior member designees receive:

  • Special recognitions – senior members are identified in the OSA Member Directory, on, and during OSA-hosted events.
  • Announcements – newly approved senior members are announced in Optics & Photonics News, the OSA e-newsletter, and other promotional materials.
  • Senior member certificate and lapel pin– distributed upon application approval.
  • Letter of recognition – approved senior members may elect to have a confirmation letter sent to their employer.

More information, including a full listing of OSA senior members and information about qualifications and requirements is available at

Following is an alphabetical listing of the 50 OSA senior members announced at FiO 2010:

  • Ayman Alfalou, ISEN-Brest, France
  • Adrian Ankiewicz, Australian National University, Australia
  • Ehab S. Awad, University of Maryland at College Park, USA
  • Da-Wun Chen, Aerospace Corp., USA
  • Stephane Coen, University of Auckland, New Zealand
  • Bradley D. Duncan, University of Dayton, USA
  • Mark D. Fairchild, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA
  • Dave Gerstenberger, USA
  • Michael A. Golub, Tel-Aviv University, Israel
  • Steen G. Hanson, DTU Fotonik, Denmark
  • Tsing-Hua Her, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA
  • Ching-Hwa Ho, National Taiwan University of Science & Tech, Taiwan
  • Bing-Yu Hsieh, University of Michigan, USA
  • Shouhua Huang, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA
  • Bryan C. Jacobs, Johns Hopkins University, USA
  • Inuk Kang, Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, USA
  • Masayuki Katsuragawa, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
  • Shiva Kumar, McMaster University, Canada
  • Alexei Lagutchev, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Chau-Hwang Lee, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • Allen Mann, USA
  • Andrey B. Matsko, Oewaves Inc., USA
  • Robert W. McMillan, U.S. Army Space and Missile Defense Command, USA
  • Mohammad Kazem Moravvej-Farshi, Tarbiat Modares University, Iran
  • Uwe Morgner, Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V., Germany
  • Lalgudi V. Natarajan, Science Applications International Corp., USA
  • Hideaki Okayama, Oki Electric Industry Co. Ltd., Japan
  • Claude R. Phipps, Photonic Associates Inc., USA
  • Mark W. Phillips, Lockheed Martin Coherent Technologies, USA
  • Brian W. Pogue, Dartmouth College, USA
  • Caesar A. Saloma, University of the Philippines-Diliman, Philippines
  • John Sanders-Reed, Boeing Co., USA
  • Joel Seligson, KLA-Tencor Corp., Israel
  • Alphan Sennaroglu, Koc Universitesi, Turkey
  • Concita Sibilia, UniversitĂ  degli Studi di Roma La Sapienza, Italy
  • Ernst Hans Karl Stelzer, European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Germany
  • Miklos Stern, Motorola Inc., USA
  • Juan P. Torres, ICFO-Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain
  • Hidemi Tsuchida, Natl. Inst. of Adv. Industrial Science & Technology, Japan
  • Gregory Wagner, Lockheed Martin Coherent Technologies, USA
  • Dong-Xue (Michael) Wang, Cisco Systems, Inc., USA
  • Michael R. Wang, University of Miami, USA
  • Daniel P. Wilt, Johns Hopkins University, USA
  • Peter L. Wizinowich, W. M. Keck Observatory, USA
  • Kenneth Kin-Yip Wong, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Andrew D. Yablon, Interfiber Analysis, USA
  • Koichi Yamakawa, Japan Atomic Energy Agency, Japan
  • Victor P. Yanovsky, University of Michigan, USA
  • Kyu Yoshimori, Iwate University, Japan
  • Anthony W. Yu, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, USA

About OSA
Uniting more than 106,000 professionals from 134 countries, the Optical Society (OSA) brings together the global optics community through its programs and initiatives. Since 1916 OSA has worked to advance the common interests of the field, providing educational resources to the scientists, engineers and business leaders who work in the field by promoting the science of light and the advanced technologies made possible by optics and photonics. OSA publications, events, technical groups and programs foster optics knowledge and scientific collaboration among all those with an interest in optics and photonics. For more information, visit