Emil Wolf Outstanding Student Paper Competition Awardees Announced



Angela Stark
Optical Society
+1 202.416.1443

Emil Wolf Outstanding Student Paper Competition Awardees Announced

WASHINGTON, Nov. 20 —The OSA Foundation is pleased to announce the first award winners of the Emil Wolf Outstanding Student Paper Competition. Debuting at the Optical Society’s (OSA) Annual Meeting, Frontiers in Optics (FiO), one recipient was chosen from each of the seven FiO subcommittees. This year’s honorees are Amber Beckley, University of Rochester, USA; Daniel Herrmann, Max-Planck Institut für Quantenoptik, Germany; Neil Terry, Duke University, USA; Christopher Barsi, Princeton University, USA; Volker Sorger, University of California, Berkeley, USA; Henrique Pires, Leiden University, Netherlands; and Xin Wei, Indiana University, USA.

Established in 2008 in honor of University of Rochester Professor Emil Wolf’s many contributions to science and OSA, the competition recognizes innovation, research excellence and presentation abilities. Each winner receives a complimentary one-year OSA student membership, an award stipend and an award certificate. Further details on the awardees and their presentations appear below.

“The Wolf Competition helps inspire students to strive for top-quality research in optics and photonics. At the same time, it honors the work of Emil Wolf and his emphasis on students and the future of our field,” said OSA Foundation Chairman G. Michael Morris. “We received numerous outstanding submissions for this inaugural award, which is a true testament to the work that’s taking place. We look forward to seeing what new developments next year’s competition will hold.”

This year’s award was made possible by a contribution from Elsevier, a leading publisher of scientific, technical and medical information products and services.

2009 Awardees

Subcommittee: Polarization and Birefringence in Optical Design

Amber Beckley, “Polarimetry Using Stress-Engineered Optical Elements”
University of Rochester, USA

Subcommittee: Extreme Light Sources

Daniel Herrmann, “Generation of Sub-Three-Cycle, 16-TW Light Pulses through Noncollinear OPCPA”
Max-Planck Institut für Quantenoptik, Germany

Subcommittee: Tissue Imaging and Spectroscopy

Neil Terry, “Angle-Resolved Low Coherence Interferometry for Endoscopic Detection of Dysplasia in Barrett’s Esophagus”
Duke University, USA

Subcommittee: General Optics in Information Science

Christopher Barsi, “Digital Reconstruction of Optically Induced Potentials”
Princeton University, USA

Subcommittee: Photonics

Volker Sorger, “Plasmonic Nano-Laser below the Diffraction Limit”
NSF Nanoscale Science and Engineering Centre, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Subcommittee: Quantum Electronics

Henrique Pires, “Direct Measurement of Transverse Mode Entanglement in Two-Photon States”
Huygens Laboratory, Leiden University, Netherlands

Subcommittee: Vision and Color

Xin Wei, “Off-Axis Estimation of Ocular Aberrations via Scanning Shack-Hartmann Wavefront-Sensor”
School of Optometry, Indiana University, USA

About the OSA Foundation
The OSA Foundation was established in 2002 to support philanthropic activities that help further the Optical Society’s mission by concentrating its efforts on programs that advance youth science education, provide optics education and resources to underserved populations, provide career and professional development resources and support awards and honors that recognize technical and business excellence. The grants funded by the OSA Foundation are made possible by the generous donations of its supporters as well as the dollar-for-dollar match by OSA. The Foundation is exempt from US federal income taxes under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and is a public charity. To learn more about the OSA Foundation or to find out how to donate, please visit www.osa-foundation.org or email foundation@osa.org.

Editor’s Note: For copies of the award-winning papers, contact mediarelations@osa.org.