OSA Foundation Awards First Annual Harvey M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship



Angela Stark
Optical Society

OSA Foundation Awards First Annual Harvey M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship

--University of Rochester optics student Katie Hasman receives $4,000 scholarship--

WASHINGTON, Oct. 13—The OSA Foundation (OSAF) is pleased to announce Katie Hasman as the winner of the first annual Harvey M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship, which honors optics manufacturing pioneer Harvey Pollicove, is given to an outstanding student pursuing a degree in the field of precision optics manufacturing. Hasman graduated with a bachelor’s degree in optics from the University of Rochester in May 2008, and is currently working toward a master’s degree. She will receive the award at a special presentation next week at the OSA Annual Meeting, Frontiers in Optics, in Rochester, N.Y.

“Katie showed tremendous dedication to the field of optical manufacturing as an undergraduate,” said Donald Golini, member of the H.M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship Advisory Committee. “Not only did she excel academically, she immersed herself in extra-curricular activities related to the field, including an internship at optics manufacturer QED Technologies and serving on the board of the University of Rochester’s OSA Student Chapter. I’m confident she will emerge as a leader in the field.”

The H.M. Pollicove Memorial Fund was established in 2005 through contributions from Harvey Pollicove’s friends and colleagues to recognize his work in the field of precision optics manufacturing. The OSA Foundation partnered with the fund to establish the scholarship earlier this year. The $4,000 annual award will rotate among participating academic institutions, which include the University of Rochester, the University of Arizona and the University of Central Florida. The H.M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship Advisory Committee reviews scholarship applications and provides input to the host academic institution. The host academic institution makes the final selection of the scholarship winner and the OSA Foundation distributes the award.

“The OSA Foundation Board is delighted to recognize Katie’s accomplishments and to encourage her, and others, to pursue degrees in precision optics manufacturing,” said Gary Bjorklund, chair, OSA Foundation.

About the OSA Foundation
The OSA Foundation was established in 2002 to support philanthropic activities that help further the Optical Society’s mission by concentrating its efforts on programs that advance youth science education, provide optics education and resources to underserved populations, provide career and professional development resources and support awards and honors that recognize technical and business excellence. The grants funded by the OSA Foundation are made possible by the generous donations of its supporters as well as the dollar-for-dollar match by OSA. The Foundation is exempt from U.S. federal income taxes under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and is a public charity. To learn more about the OSA Foundation or to find out how to donate, please visit www.osa-foundation.org or e-mail foundation@osa.org.