Students, Student Chapters and Local Sections Receive Awards at OSA's Annual Meeting, Frontiers in O



Angela Stark
Optical Society

Students, Student Chapters and Local Sections Receive Awards at OSA’s Annual Meeting, Frontiers in Optics

WASHINGTON, Oct. 20—Several student researchers as well as four Optical Society (OSA) Student Chapters and Local Sections received awards this week at Frontiers in Optics (FiO), OSA’s Annual Meeting taking place in Rochester, N.Y. Funded by Milton and Rosalind Chang, the Incubic/Milton Chang Travel Grant was awarded to 10 graduate students who will present papers during FiO. Additionally, two student chapters and two local sections received OSA Excellence Awards in recognition of their outstanding achievements in advocacy and outreach in their local communities as well as academic and professional development programming for members.

“Student and local section programs at OSA are thriving,” said Elizabeth Rogan, OSA executive director. “Recognizing the outstanding efforts of student researchers, student chapters and local sections serves as an opportunity to highlight examples of research and educational excellence to the wider optics community on both a local and international scale. OSA congratulates all the winners on their achievements.”

Incubic/Milton Chang Travel Grant

The following students were awarded grants to present their work at FiO:

  • Adalberto Alejo-Molina, INAOE, Mexico
  • Pamela Bowlan , Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  • Rijuparna Chakraborty, University of Calcutta, India
  • Kyung Soo Choi, California Institute of Technology, USA
  • David Haefner, University of Central Florida, USA
  • Paul Hoy, Optoelectronic Research Centre, United Kingdom
  • Robert Kester , Rice University, USA
  • Yoav Lahini, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • Henry Liu, Princeton University, USA
  • Robert Wilson, University of Michigan, USA

The grant is awarded annually to 20 top students, who present papers during FiO or the Conference on Lasers and Electro Optics (CLEO). Applications for the grant are reviewed by the Awards Subcommittee of OSA’s Membership and Education Services Council. Students are judged on their paper submission, financial need and letters of recommendation. The winners each receive a grant of $1,000 USD to cover travel-related expenses to attend and present at FiO or CLEO. For more information on these grants and how to apply, visit OSA’s Web site.

OSA Excellence Awards

The 2008 winners of the OSA Excellence Awards are as follows:

Student Chapters

  • Small Group category (5-15 members): Moscow State University, Russia
  • Large Group category (16+ members): Institute of Radiophysics and Electronics, Ukraine

Local Sections

  • Small Group category (10-50 members): Long Island Local Section of OSA, USA
  • Large Group category (51+ members): New England Local Section, USA

The Excellence Awards are presented annually at FiO to two Student Chapters and two Local Sections. Winners receive an Excellence Award certificate and a $1000 USD award. More information on Student Services and Local Sections is available online.

About OSA
Uniting more than 70,000 professionals from 134 countries, the Optical Society (OSA) brings together the global optics community through its programs and initiatives. Since 1916 OSA has worked to advance the common interests of the field, providing educational resources to the scientists, engineers and business leaders who work in the field by promoting the science of light and the advanced technologies made possible by optics and photonics. OSA publications, events, technical groups and programs foster optics knowledge and scientific collaboration among all those with an interest in optics and photonics. For more information, visit