2007 John Tyndall Award Presented Today at OFC/NFOEC 2007



Angela Stark
Optical Society of America

2007 John Tyndall Award Presented Today at OFC/NFOEC 2007

--Emmanuel Desurvire Receives Award for Research on Fiber Amplifiers--

ANAHEIM, Calif., March 27 -- The 2007 John Tyndall Award was presented today to Emmanuel Desurvire of Alcatel-Lucent for his pioneering contributions to the physical and theoretical understanding of erbium-doped fiber amplifiers and to their early development. Desurvire received the award at the Optical Fiber Communication Conference and Exposition/ National Fiber Optic Engineers Conference (OFC/NFOEC) during the plenary session and award ceremony.

Emmanuel B. Desurvire has been involved in the field of optical communications for more than 25 years. Desurvire has been with Alcatel (now Alcatel-Lucent) since 1994, where he is senior director in the Optics Division’s WDM Networks Product Group, in charge of photonics technologies and innovation assessment. He is a Fellow of IEEE and the Alcatel-Lucent Technical Academy, has authored or co-authored more than 200 technical publications, holds more than 30 patents and has received several recognitions for his scientific contributions.

Desurvire’s contributions to the fiber optics field involve erbium-doped fiber amplifiers (EDFA) that consist of "doping" the core of a short length of optical fiber to periodically boost signals and transmit several information channels through a single fiber-optic link. This approach has changed optical communications in a revolutionary way, being a forerunner to wavelength-division multiplexing (WDM) and to the realization of modern, high-speed optical networks.

“Through innovation and perseverance, Emmanuel discovered a transmission method that paved the way for the high-speed optical networks we have today,” said Elizabeth Rogan, executive director of the Optical Society of America (OSA). “The Tyndall Award was specifically designed to recognize results of this caliber and we are honored to present the award to Emmanuel for his momentous achievement.”

The Tyndall Award is the highest recognition in the optical telecommunications community and is co-sponsored by OSA and IEEE Lasers and Electro Optics Society. Corning, Inc. endows the award, a glass sculpture that represents the concept of total internal reflection. First presented in 1987, the Tyndall Award recognizes an individual who has made pioneering, highly significant, or continuing technical or leadership contributions to fiber optics technology.

Uniting more than 70,000 professionals from 134 countries, the Optical Society of America (OSA) brings together the global optics community through its programs and initiatives. Since 1916 OSA has worked to advance the common interests of the field, providing educational resources to the scientists, engineers and business leaders who work in the field by promoting the science of light and the advanced technologies made possible by optics and photonics. OSA publications, events, technical groups and programs foster optics knowledge and scientific collaboration among all those with an interest in optics and photonics. For more information, visit www.osa.org.

Since 1985, the Optical Fiber Communication Conference and Exposition (OFC) has provided an annual backdrop for the optical communications field to network and share research and innovations. In 2004, OFC joined forces with the National Fiber Optic Engineers Conference (NFOEC) creating the largest and most comprehensive international event for optical communications. By combining an exposition of more than 600 companies with a unique program of peer-reviewed technical programming and special focused educational sessions, OFC/NFOEC provides an unparalleled opportunity, reaching every audience from service providers to optical equipment manufacturers and beyond.

OFC/NFOEC, www.ofcnfoec.org, is managed by the Optical Society of America (OSA), a member society of the American Institute of Physics, and co-sponsored by OSA, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers/Communications Society (IEEE/ComSoc) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers/Lasers and Electro-Optics Society (IEEE/LEOS). Acting as a non-financial technical co-sponsor is Telcordia Technologies, Inc.