Fifty-Eight OSA Members Elevated to Rank of Fellow


Angela Stark
Optical Society of America

Fifty-Eight OSA Members Elevated to Rank of Fellow

WASHINGTON, Jan. 22 – The Optical Society of America (OSA) Board of Directors is pleased to announce that they have elevated 58 members to the rank of fellow.  These members, who are new OSA fellows as of Jan. 1, 2007, will be recognized individually at meetings throughout 2007.   A listing of all 58 fellows appears below.

Any regular OSA member who has served with distinction in the advancement of optics is eligible for transfer to the class of fellow. OSA’s Fellows & Honorary Members Committee recommends candidates to the Board of Directors, based on nominations from current fellow members. The number of fellows is limited by the bylaws to 10 percent of the total membership. 

“The distinction of fellow at OSA is reserved for those members of the optics and photonics community who are at the top of the profession,” said Elizabeth Rogan, OSA’s executive director.  “All 58 new fellows fit this distinction and have offered valuable insights and contributions to the ongoing understanding of optical science.  OSA congratulates them on their accomplishments.”

This year’s fellows hail from around the globe, 23 of whom are affiliated with institutions outside the United States.  Fellows are selected on a variety of criteria such as record of publications related to optics, service to OSA, achievements in optics and management ability.

Following is an alphabetical listing of OSA’s 2007 fellows.  Specific information on each fellow’s accomplishments can be found at

Albert J. Ahumada, Jr., NASA Ames Research Center, Calif., USA

Ilya Sh. Averbukh, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel

Nicholas P. Bigelow, University of Rochester, New York, USA

Rolf Binder, University of Arizona, USA

Alan C. Bovik, University of Texas at Austin, USA

Sergey I. Bozhevolnyi, Aalborg University, Denmark

Igal Brener, Sandia National Laboratories, New Mexico, USA

Christian Brosseau, Université de Bretagne Occidentale, France

Juan Campos, Universidad Autonoma de Barcelona, Spain

Hui Cao, Northwestern University, Illinois, USA

Henry N. Chapman, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Calif., USA

Zhongping Chen, University of California at Irvine, USA

Wood-Hi Cheng, National Sun Yat-Sen University, Taiwan

Fow-Sen Paul Choa, University of Maryland Baltimore County, USA

Michael J. Damzen, Imperial College London, United Kingdom

Martin David Dawson, University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom

Richard De La Rue, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom

John M. Dudley, Université de Franche-Comté, France

James Dunn, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Calif., USA

René-Jean Essiambre, Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies, New Jersey, USA

John T. Fourkas, University of Maryland, USA

Azriel Z. Genack, Queens College of CUNY, USA

James R. Gord, Air Force Research Laboratory, Ohio, USA

Angela M. Guzman H., National University of Colombia, Colombia

David J. Hagan, University of Central Florida, USA

John D. Harvey, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Richard D. Juday, NASA Johnson Space Flight Center (retired), Colorado, USA

Brian L. Justus, Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, D.C., USA

Zakya H. Kafafi, Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, D.C., USA

William L. Kath, Northwestern University, Illinois, USA

Peter G. Kazansky, University of Southampton, United Kingdom

Galina Khitrova, University of Arizona, USA

Bernard Kippelen, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Wieslaw Z. Krolikowski, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia

Cheng-Chung Lee, National Central University, Taiwan

Alfred Leipertz, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany

Charles P. Lin, Harvard Medical School/Massachusetts General Hospital, Massachusetts, USA

Martin W. McCall, Imperial College London, United Kingdom

Colin J. McKinstrie, Lucent Technologies, New Jersey, USA

Alan Miller, University of St. Andrews, United Kingdom

Shu Namiki, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan

Robert A. Norwood, University of Arizona, USA

Lukas Novotny, University of Rochester, New York, USA

Stojan Radic, University of California at San Diego, USA

Jinendra K. Ranka, Lincoln Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Erling Riis, University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom

Wolfgang Rudolf, University of New Mexico, USA

Michael Scalora, Army Aviation and Missile Command, Alabama, USA

Richard P. Schneider, Jr., Infinera, California, USA

Han-Ping D. Shieh, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Irina T. Sorokina, Technische Universität Wien, Austria

Mitsuo Takeda, The University of Electro-Communications, Tokyo, Japan

Rodney S. Tucker, The University of Melbourne, Australia

Yurii A.Vlasov, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, New York, USA

Paul F. Wysocki, Lucent Technologies, New Jersey, USA

Shizhuo (Stuart) Yin, The Pennsylvania State University, USA

S. J. Ben Yoo, University of California at Davis, USA

Paul Kit Lai Yu, University of California at San Diego, USA

About OSA

Uniting more than 70,000 professionals from 134 countries, the Optical Society of America (OSA) brings together the global optics community through its programs and initiatives. Since 1916 OSA has worked to advance the common interests of the field, providing educational resources to the scientists, engineers and business leaders who work in the field by promoting the science of light and the advanced technologies made possible by optics and photonics. OSA publications, events, technical groups and programs foster optics knowledge and scientific collaboration among all those with an interest in optics and photonics. For more information, visit