The OSA officers each possess outstanding records of scientific achievement in the field of optics and distinguished service. The time and effort given by OSA's elected representatives provide a strong foundation for the Society's future.

2014 Officers

Philip BucksbaumPhilip Bucksbaum, President
Stanford University, USA
Philip RussellPhilip Russell, President-Elect
Max-Planck-Institute for the Science of Light, Germany
Alan WillnerAlan Willner, Vice President
University of Southern California, USA
Donna Strickland.jpgDonna Strickland, Past President
University of Waterloo, Canada
George BayzGeorge Bayz, Treasurer
Synopsys, Inc., USA
Stephen D. FantoneElizabeth A. Rogan, Chief Executive Officer
The Optical Society, USA

Election for 2015 Offices

The OSA Board of Directors is pleased to present an outstanding slate of candidates for election to terms beginning in 2015. The election will be open from 9 July 2014 through 26 September 2014; results will be announced on 21 October 2014 at the OSA Annual Business Meeting in Tucson, AZ, USA, during FiO/LS 2014.

Voting instructions will be emailed to eligible voters* on 9 July 2014. To request a paper ballot, contact OSA at, or telephone +1.202.416.1403 or 1.800.766.4672 (U.S. only).

*Individual, Emeritus and Recent Graduate members as of 1 September 2014 are eligible to vote.  Student and Youth Educator members are not eligible to vote.

Candidates for Vice President (1 will be elected)

Thomas L. KochThomas L. Koch, University of Arizona, USA
Eric MazurEric Mazur, Harvard University, USA

Candidates for Director at Large (3 will be elected)

JayJay M. Eastman, University of Rochester, USA
Amy EskilsonAmy Eskilson, Inrad Optics, USA
Juerg LeutholdJuerg Leuthold, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
José R. SalcedoJosé R. Salcedo, ATLA Lasers, Norway
Martin SeifertMartin Seifert, Nufern, USA
Lluis TornerLluis Torner, Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO), Spain